Monday 6 February 2023 \


Who is eligible to Receive Zakat?

1- For the poor (Fuqara') who do not have enough to take care of their basic needs.

Zakat is the third Pillar of Islam. It is sometimes translated as alms or poor-due, but actually means purification, growth, and blessing.

Zakat purifies the heart from the detested trait of stinginess, and also purifies the wealth by giving out a portion of that wealth. It also causes the wealth to grow through Allah's blessings. While regular charity is strongly recommended and abundantly rewarded by Allah (SWT), Zakat is a debt we owe Allah (SWT), and must be paid as a part of our belief in Him.

Zakat, as a specific amount, was ordained in Madinah during the month of Shawwal of the second year of Hijrah. In order to emphasize its importance, the order to give Zakat is associated with the order to perform prayers over eighty times in the Nobel Qur'an. In one verse which is repeated many times Allah (SWT) says what can be translated as, "... And perform prayers and give Zakat...” and Allah (SWT) says to His Messenger (SAW) what can be translated as, "Of their wealth take alms so that, through it, you may purify and sanctify them..." [Surah At-Tawbah (9:103)]


There are eight categories of people eligible to receive Zakat. They have been specified in the Noble Qur'an what can be translated as, "Alms are for the poor, the needy, the employees who administer the funds, those whose hearts have been recently reconciled to the Truth, those in bondage, those in debt, in the cause of Allah, and the wayfarer, (thus it is) ordained by Allah, and Allah is most knowledgeable, most wise." [Surah At-Tawbah (9:60)]

 Based on this verse, the ways of spending Zakat funds can be classified as follows:

 1- For the poor (Fuqara') who do not have enough to take care of their basic needs.

 2- For the needy (Masakeen) whose basic needs are met but their income does not take  care of other important needs.

3- For those whose sole job is to collect and distribute the Zakat funds.

 4- For those who are close to accepting Islam as a religion, and those non-Muslims

whose evil can be avoided if they receive money.

 5- For freeing a Muslim person from bondage (whether a slave in the old times, or a

prisoner of war in our times)

 6- For those who are indebted and cannot pay their debts.

 7- In the cause of Allah (SWT): the scholars have said that what is meant here is that

Zakat can be given to those who volunteer to fight in the cause of Allah (SWT) and do not receive a fixed salary from the government.

8- For the wayfarer who is stranded in a foreign land and cannot get enough money to go back to his homeland, even though he might be rich otherwise. He should be given enough money to allow him to return to his homeland. 



We recommend

Social Networks